A- A A+

Region of Istria

istra 1

Contact person:  Patrizia Bosich
 Telephone:  +385 052 351 480
 E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 Website: www.istra-istria.hr




The Region of Istria was established by the Law on the Territories of Counties, Towns, and Municipalities in the Republic of Croatia as one of 20 Croatian counties. In accordance with the provisions of the Law on Local and Regional Self-Government, the Region of Istria is a unit of regional self-government whose territory represents a natural, historical, economic, social, and self-governing unit established for reasons of performing works of regional interest, especially those related to education, health, physical and town planning and economic development. Administratively, the Region of Istria is divided in 41 territorial units of local self-government - 10 towns and 31 municipalities.
Situated in the north-west of the Adriatic Sea, Istria is surrounded by the sea from three sides, while the northern border towards the continent is made up by a line between Muggia (Italy) in the direct vicinity of Trieste and the Preluk Bay, right next to Rijeka. With such a favourable geographic position, almost at the heart of Europe, Istria has always represented a bridge connecting the Middle European continental area with the Mediterranean.
Strategic geographic position and good traffic connections, preservation of natural resources, stability of regional politics and the cooperation with numerous regions abroad contributed to the successful economic and social development of the Region of Istria.

project involvement

In the framework of the project, the Region of Istria is the coordinator of the WP4 which foresees the assessment of the Adriatic port system and its integration with hinterland, based on collected data about the applicable legal acts, studies, analyses and implemented projects, in cooperation with the University of Ljubljana, University of Belgrade and University of Sarajevo. Furthermore, Istrian Region will implement the following pilot actions within the WP6: continuation of the construction of the operational shore in the port of Pula and remediation of the operational shore in the north city's port Valdibora (Rovinj). Both pilot actions will create the physical preconditions to improve existing and establish new cross-border short sea lines between programme's countries ports, fostering passenger transport in the whole Adriatic Ionian basin.


Go to top